Home > Support > How do I void or delete a transaction in my account register?

How do I void or delete a transaction in my account register?

Updated: 1/22/2014 | Article ID: GEN82288

To either delete or void a transaction in your register

  1. From the account register, click any place in the transaction that you want to void. If you'd like to delete two or more transactions at once, you can hold down Ctrl or Cmd while you select.
  2. Click Edit and choose either Void Transaction or Delete (please see below for an explanation of their differences).
  3. Click Enter.

What happens when I void a transaction?

When you void a transaction, Quicken removes the dollar amount of the transaction and inserts the word ***VOID*** before the payee name. Quicken also adds a "c" to the Clr field so that the transaction won't interfere with reconciling. If the transaction contains split amounts, Quicken changes each amount to zero. The check number is also retained, if applicable.

Do not void an online payment instruction. If you do, Quicken cannot get the confirmation number it needs to stop the payment. Cancel the online payment instruction instead.

In addition, you cannot void an investment transaction.

What happens when I delete a transaction?

When you delete a transaction, the transaction is removed from the register and all subsequent balances are recalculated. If you need to retain a record of the transaction, consider voiding it instead.

  • You can restore your most recently deleted transaction for any non-investment account by choosing Edit menu > Transaction > Undo Delete. You must perform the undo within the same Quicken session and from the same account from which the transaction was deleted. If several transactions were selected and deleted in one operation, Undo Delete restores all of them.
  • Use CRTL+click or SHIFT+click to select multiple transactions in an account register (does not work in an investment transaction list).
  • If you delete a transaction that includes a transfer, Quicken deletes the transfer from both the source and destination accounts.
  • You can protect transactions from being deleted accidentally by requiring a password before opening a file or before changing transactions entered on or before a certain date.
 
Community Discussions

Share advice with other Quicken customers about using our products and managing your finances.

Quicken Community
Still Haven't Solved It?
Did this article help you?
Content Article Feedback